PCOGS Members Lost Password = Members Only

JW Marriott Desert Ridge, Phoenix, Arizona
11:15 AM October 21, 2004

The meeting was called to Order by President Russ Laros at 11:15 AM.

President Laros asked for a moment of silence in memory of those members who died since our last meeting. William Scott member 1978-2004, Dan Golenternek member 1961-2004, Jack Hallat member 1974-2003, J George Moore 1956-2003, James Stickler member 1986-2004, Frederic Balz member 1967­2004, Alan King member 1984-2004.

President Laros introduced the new members who were in attendance: Laura Greenberg, Portland; John Lenihan, Tacoma; Andy Combs, San Jose; Jone Sampson, Portland; Wendy Smith, Beaverton; Vera Stucky, San Marcos; and Dena Towner, Sacramento.

Secretary Shefren reviewed the highlights of the minutes of the Interim Board March 2004 meeting and the l Board of Directors Meeting October 20th, copies of which were distributed to those at the meeting.


Dr. Patton reviewed in more detail the changes instituted by the American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology which should make the process easier for the Society. The authors will still be able to recommend potential reviewers for their papers.


• Associate Fellow Status - Tawfik Rizkallah made a proposal for consideration by the membership to add an additional membership category that would allow residents and fellows or other members to join with a 5 year maximum timeframe to convert to a Fellow by presenting a paper. The details were previously outlined in the minutes of the Is' Board of Directors Meeting. A number of comments were made about this proposal that it would make the Society larger and change the culture to using the personal guests mechanism in order to accomplish the same goals. The Caucus Chairs were requested to discuss this at the Caucus meetings on Friday and report out at the Business meeting.

• Nominating Committee Changes - Secretary Shefren outlined a proposal submitted to the Board by Jack Enbom to create a more consistent process for nominating officers for the Society. It would create a standing committee with a membership of 5, one from each Caucus that would serve staggered terms with the chair being the member with the longest tenure. The committee would meet before the annual meeting in person or by phone to nominate a slate of officers that would be presented at the annual meeting. The committee would be encouraged to consider the following characteristics in choosing the candidates; active participation in the scientific programs, active participation in the Society activities, geographic residents, length of time in the Society.

The Caucus Chairs were asked to discuss this at their meetings on Friday and report the results at the 2nd Business Meeting.

Bylaws change for special meetings - Secretary Shefren presented the suggestion of Martin Schwartz of Portland that Article III, Section 2 states "A special meeting may be called at any time by the President or by a majority of the Board, or upon written request often (10) Fellows, at a convenient time and place to be designated by the Board of Directors." It was felt that although it was important for the membership to have this option, it might be more appropriate to require 30 members to request this in writing since it would be a significant cost to have an emergency meeting of this type. This particular section needs to be reviewed by legal council before any change can be made. The Caucus Chairs were requested to review this at their meetings and report back at the 2nd Business Meeting.


President Laros announced the following committee members for the meeting:

Audit Committee - Chair Frank Gamberdella and George Lee

Nominating Committee - Subi Roy, Joe Hanns, Bill Parer, Phil Patton, Buck Peters, and Chaired by Jim Maharry.


Secretary Shefren reminded the Fellows that the next meeting would be at the Hyatt Regency on Kauai, Hawaii September 28-October 2, 2005. He asked for a show of hands on how many would expect to attend with almost all Fellows present voting that they would attend.

The 2006 meeting will be at Sun Valley hosted by the Portland Caucus, and 2007 to be determined by the Los Angeles Caucus.

The meeting was adjourned by President Laros at 12:30 pm

Respectfully submitted,

Jerry Shefren
Go Back to Top Go Back a Page
Virtual Meeting
September 2-6, 2020

EXHIBITORS - click here to pay Exhibit Fee

Park City Mountain Resort
September 1-5, 2021
Park City, UT
Link to location
The Grand Wailea
Aug 31-Sep 4, 2022
Wailea, HI
Link to location

Please visit our new website for updated information
January 1 - January 1, 2022

Link to location

if you would like to contact via email please use the form on this page.
© 2022 Pacific Coast Obstetrical and Gynecological Society.  All rights reserved. How It WorksWebsite design by